post

Madonna’s Oggs

After reading some good reviews about Madonna’s Confessions on a Dance Floor album, I bought the CD at Planet M today.

I had installed Kubuntu 5.10 (breezy) recently and have been hooked to it. I especially like the way it has good support for restricted formats, and the Ubuntu wiki helped me fix the jerky DVD playback as well.

Coming back to Madonna, I followed the normal routine… I popped in the CD, KsCD opened up, and started playing ‘Hung Up’, the first song in the CD. Konqueror also opened up and showed me the CD contents, and surprisingly, I see a folder called Ogg Vorbis and there are .ogg files inside! Just to make sure I’m not seeing things, I copied over the ogg files and played it in Amarok.

![74788955][Small][]

It seems KDE shows an Ogg folder and a FLAC folder view for any Audio CD, from where you can copy the “songs” and KDE will automatically convert it into Ogg/FLAC respectively on-the-fly when you copy it to your hard disk. How’s that for ease of use?

![74788954][Small][]

Now, back to my deadlines …

Comments

  1. seen this feature of KDE quite some time back when i was trying Debian for first time and saw the folders containing the ogg files for tracks as well as ogg file for the full album. due to a h/w problem the digital output of the audio cd doesn’t play thru both speakers, so this is one easy way to get the proper sound…lazy i must add. :)

  2. @DP: Yep, that’s a good way to be able to play the CDs without an audio wire.

    @Julian: Yeah, I agree with your opinion on standard Ubuntu vs Kubuntu. Firefox used to look like crap but a different theme made it look okay. Although, in general, I like Kubuntu.

    I tried running the Kubuntu Live CD on my PowerBook, but my PowerBook refuses to recognize it as a bootable CD and doesn’t do anything about it. I’m currently running Kubuntu both on my home desktop as well as office desktop.

  3. do you mean you would give up Mac OS X to run Kubuntu? (I know someone who runs Kubuntu perfectly fine on their ibook, btw)

    doesn’t that defeat the whole purpose of having a mac machine? you may as well have a cheap x86 laptop?

    just wondering, what’s your office IDE? does yahoo! allow you to run whatever you like?

  4. @Julian: I said I was running the Live CD on the PowerBook, not the install CD ;-). Besides, it would be fun to have Linux on the PB.

    Our IDE is VIM/Emacs/take your pick.

  5. Amarok simply rules! Have you tried out some of its scripts?

  6. t3rmin4t0r says:

Your comments?

