post

Leaving Infibeam

Today is my last day at Infibeam.

I’m going to miss working in this environment because I learned a lot about ecommerce and online buying in India. For example, I was surprised to know how much sales go up during Diwali (in hindsight, not so surprising, of course) and was surprised at the amount of online buying that happens from Tier II cities. Then there was the learning on the huge amount of logistics that happens – the part where the customer visits the website and clicks on the Buy button is just 1% of the total stuff that happens behind-the-scenes.

I am also thankful to Ajay and Infibeam for getting me into the Rails wagon, I’m finally starting to see the light. Learning a new language and framework from scratch to delivering a full ecommerce platform in 4–5 months was a fascinating experience. And soon, anyone can set up their own online store on top of Infibeam’s infrastructure.

Infibeam has done many things right, has many things to improve, and rumors say they may face many challenges in the future. All in all, that’s a good thing. Infibeam launched at the right time and is helping to grow ecommerce in India, and it will continue to do so.

But alas, it’s time for me to move on. I can haz plans.


Listening to Stand Up by The Prodigy

Comments

  1. god speed

  2. so what now for you, back to startup bandwagon?

  3. Good luck!

  4. All the best for next thing, I am sure it would be another big thing…

  5. Guess you have bigger plans for future. Can we expect a detailed post on your departure from Infibeam?
    All the best & Keep Rocking :)

  6. Swaroop says:

    @djd @amit @abdul Thanks for the wishes!

    @vaibhav nope

    @pavan Well, there was nothing to write about, that’s why I didn’t :)

  7. Hi Swaroop,
    Wishing u lots of Good Luck and sucesses for your future endeavors.
    Girish

  8. So like every one asks , wondering what’s your next plans ……

  9. Hi Swaroop,
    All the best for your next job.
    Regards…

  10. All the best Swaroop :) I am sure you are gonna do something very positive….Keep Rocking.

  11. Vijay Anand says:

    Wishing you the best Swaroop. Keep writing though. A lot of folks look upto your blog.

  12. Swaroop says:

    Thanks for all the wishes.

    @Vijay Yes, need to be more regular at writing, but my writing requires me to do interesting stuff, so that’s what I’m looking to do now ;-)

Your comments?

